Portrait of Mélissa Allé

Meet Mélissa Allé, who works on schizophrenia and comes from France.

03.02.2017 | Tine Bagger Christiansen

Mélissa Allé

Why did you choose to work at the Department of Psychology and Behavioural Sciences?
I had the opportunity to visit and stay at the department of Psychology and Behavioural Sciences and more precisely at Con Amore (Center on Autobiographical Memory Research) three months during my PhD.

I already knew this team research because of their wide expertise on autobiographical memory. They've done fundamental and seminal works in this field, therefore I wanted to beneficiate from their experience to pursue my own reflections and research.

What is your area of expertise and what will you be doing here?
I work on schizophrenia. I'm interested in understanding patients' symptoms and the psychopathology of this severe mental disorder. More precisely during my current Postdoctoral fellow I will explore involuntary memories in schizophrenia and try to understand the hypothetic relationships between involuntary memories and auditory hallucinations in patients suffering from schizophrenia. For this project, I will work in collaboration with Strasbourg (France) to include patients with schizophrenia and Con Amore for their expertise on involuntary memories investigation.

What is your educational background?
I started to study biology and followed a bachelor degree in Cellular Biology and Physiology. Then, I discovered Neurosciences and validated a master degree in Cognitive Neurosciences and Psychology.

What have you done before?
The last 3 years I did a PhD in cognitive neurosciences and psychology. More specifically, I’ve been working on identity disorders in schizophrenia. In order to better understand one aspect of their self-disorders, I explored the construction of their life narratives and how patients try to explain through their memories the person they are today.

Please tell us a bit about yourself, your family and your leisure activities.
I'm French, I come from Strasbourg in France (near Germany). I love travelling, discovering new countries, new landscapes and new culture. That's why I really enjoy working in collaboration half-time in France half time in Denmark.

I don't have children but I live with my partner when I'm in France. Otherwise, I love cinema, photography, swimming and spending time with my friends.