Department of Psychology and Behavioural Sciences


Department of Psychology and Behavioural Sciences was founded in 1968 and is a part of Aarhus BSS which holds the internationally recognised accreditations by AACSB and AMBA as well as the EQUIS accreditation for the school’s business activities.


Aarhus University
Aarhus BSS

Department of Psychology and Behavioural Sciences
Bartholins Allé 11
DK-8000 Aarhus C

Department of Psychology and Behavioural Sciences teaches and carries out research into all the most significant subject areas of psychology. The department also contributes with communication of psychological research to the society. Once graduates have gained relevant business experience and supervision, their Master’s degree in psychology qualifies them for authorisation in Denmark in accordance with the EuroPsy criteria.

The department contributes with research and knowledge transfer in the psychology subject areas in relation to society at large. The department’s researchers enter into close international collaborative agreements and have a strong tradition for collaborating with researchers from many different fields, such as health, linguistics, philosophy, study of religion, management, economy and neuroscience.

To an increasing degree, the department focuses on further expansion of research and teaching to naturally include subject areas such as management and human relations.

Department of Psychology and Behavioural Sciences has the overall responsibility for the Bachelor’s and Master’s degree (cand.psych.) programmes in Psychology, as well as the subsidiary subject programme in Psychology. The department also contributes to the Flexible Master of Public Governance (FMOL).

The department’s faculty are organised in fifteen research units and six subject groups that carry out research into cognitive psychology, developmental psychology, clinical psychology, work and organisational psychology, human resource management, educational psychology, biological psychology, and social and personality psychology.

Department of Psychology and Behavioural Sciences has 40–45 faculty and 45–50 PhD students.

200 students are enrolled in the Bachelor's programme, and everyone who passes the Bachelor's exam can continue on the Master’s degree programme. Each year, a number of master's graduates are enrolled in the PhD programme, whose aim is a research career.

The department consists of units from:

The Department of Psychology and Behavioural Sciences
Centre for Alcohol and Drug Research